malaga province

The province of Malaga is one of the eight Andalusian provinces and is primarily famous for the Costa del Sol - a popular tourist area along the coastline of the Mediterranean Sea.

Its capital and biggest municipality is Malaga City with a population of roughly 560,000 inhabitants, at the same time the centre of the Costa del Sol due to the proximity of Malaga Airport where arrive throughout the year a large number of both domestic and international tourists.

Mediterranean Sea - Malaga
Mediterranean Sea - Malaga

This province between the Mediterranean Sea and the mountains in southern Spain has many charms apart from its blessed climate. The municipalities of the province of Malaga have a rich historical and cultural heritage and natural environments of great beauty. This beautiful land of friendly people offers a wide range of possibilities for all tastes, whether you want to enjoy sun and sand in its purest form, with all services and facilities related to the sea, or you want to enjoy nature and the charm of mountain villages, or if interested in the rich historical and cultural legacy of this land that was inhabited by Arabs for eight centuries and whose presence is still palpable in the language, habits and Andalusian architecture.

To the most important towns along the coast of Malaga belong Marbella, Fuengirola, Mijas, Benalmadena, Estepona and Nerja, which are strongly characterised by the local tourism, but there are also other noteworthy spots in the inland of Malaga, like the typical white mountain villages that could maintain their traditional Andalusian ambience (Ronda, Antequera, Casares).

In any case, Malaga province is definitely worth a visit, especially in spring and autumn when the temperatures are not too hot and the evenings are enjoyable. Book you car hire Malaga in advance and avoid overbooking problems in high season.